September Reading List Day Two: “The Catcher in the Rye” by J.D. Salinger

The Catcher in the Rye (Image)

I have a funny story about my introduction to The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger. I had heard the title when I was younger and always associated, for some strange reason, I aways associated it with the baseball flick Field of Dreams. (I think I took the title at a literal meaning.) When my high school English teacher Mr. Sabatini assigned us to read the novel, I was very intrigued, especially since I had come to learn that it more often than not ends up on banned book lists across he country. The copy of the book I received also did not feature a synopsis of the plot, so it was a complete mystery. From the first page, I was swept up in the story of Holden Caulfield and his journey from his countryside prep school to the dark streets of New York. A complex societal commentary, his feelings of alienation and being forced into a societal box resonated with my sixteen year-old psyche. On the cusp of adulthood, he fantasizes about protecting children from going through the lost of innocence that comes with entering adulthood he is experiencing. He lost looking for purpose, yet it always remains just out of reach. The Catcher in the Rye beautifully and perfectly sums up into words the emotions of being a young adult trying to carve your own place while grappling with the transition from child to adult.

What are your thoughts on today’s selection? Share your thoughts below! Also tweet your favorite books to @WriteForBoots and I’ll retweet them!

Leave a Reply

